Te Puna Foundation


Te Puna Foundation is an independent charity established to support the National Library New Zealand Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa. By gifting to the foundation, New Zealanders can enhance the National Libraries ability to share knowledge, look after our heritage and create a nation of readers.


We need your support - donate today!

Our Board of Trustees


Bill Macnaught


Bill has held the role of National Librarian since 2011

Prior to that, he was Manager of Puke Ariki, the award-winning library, museum and visitor information centre in Taranaki. Bill was born in Scotland. Before coming to New Zealand,
Bill led libraries and arts services at Gateshead Council in the north of England.  Among a number of flagship projects, Bill commissioned the Angel of the North sculpture by
Sir Antony Gormley. 

Bill was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours in 2005 for services to public libraries and cultural life in the UK.

Bill became a proud New Zealand citizen in 2016.

profile photo_Sarah O'Sullivan_2.jpg

Sarah O'Sullivan


Sarah is a commercial lawyer with over 20 years experience in the corporate sector, including in both NZ and the UK. Sarah's expertise and experience covers a wide range of areas, including technology contracts, commercialisation of intellectual property, digital and commercial projects.  Sarah has worked within the museum/art gallery scene and also in the IT and telecoms industries.  She is a keen lover of the arts.

Profile photo KatedeGoldi.jpg

Kate De Goldi


Kate De Goldi writes for all ages and is active advocate for the importance of reading at every stage of life. She has been recipient of The Michael King Fellowship and twice winner of New Zealand Post Children’s Book of the Year. Kate reviews books in print and broadcast media and teaches creative writing at schools throughout New Zealand. With Susan Paris she is co-publisher of the Annual Ink children’s imprint at Massey University Press.


Peter Murray


Peter is Deputy Chief Executive, Information Knowledge Services at the Department of Internal Affairs and is a Wellingtonian. His professional training is as a Chartered Accountant. He has a Bachelor of Commerce and Administration from Victoria University of Wellington and an Executive Masters in Public Administration (2007), from the Australia and New Zealand School of Government, through Victoria University of Wellington.


Chris Szekely


Chris is Chief Librarian of the Alexander Turnbull Library and secretary of the Alexander Turnbull Library Endowment Trust.  He was previously City Librarian for South Auckland and has worked in libraries for 30 years. He is also a founding member of Te Rōpū Whakahau, the professional association for Māori working in the library and information sector, a Fellow of the Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa, as well as an award-winning author of children books.


Te Puna Foundation currently has vacancies for up to three independent trustees.

Our Founding Supporters

Our generous founding supporters enable the National Library to fund new programmes to share New Zealand's knowledge
and ideas for generations to come.


The Former National Library Society

David Zwartz

Kate Fortune

Anthea Hamlet

Joanna Matthew

Rebecca Elvy

Richard Eats and Hilary Eats

Gaynor Brymer

Corin Haines

Neil McGrath

Robert Mills

Julia Millen

Brian and Judith McLay

Cate Crombie

Lyn and Bruce Robertson

Susan Price

Rangi Kearney

The Friends of the Turnbull Library

Peter Murray

David Atkins

Jane Wright

Mark Stanley

Laurie Greig

Suzy Harvey

Valerie Love

Karen Ross

Beryl Anderson

Joy McNicoll

Alison Skerman

Yvonne Curtis

Sarah Knox

Penny Carnaby

Patricia Morrison

Margaret Wallace

David and Rachel Underwood